Oklahoma Sweeps FSU to Advance to WCWS to Defend Title

Courtesy of Oklahoma Athletics

Oklahoma will advance to its eighth straight Women’s College World Series next week at Devon Park in Oklahoma City to chase a fourth consecutive national title after a 4-2 win over Florida State. 

Scoreless in the third inning, the Sooners found their stride when Ella Parker was drawn into a rundown while heading to second base, allowing Tiare Jennings to score from third.

Florida State responded immediately with a solo home run from Jaysoni Beachum off Kierston Deal to tie the game. Once FSU got a good look at Deal, Karlie Keeney came in for relief.

Ashtyn Danley started in the circle for the Seminoles, but Makenna Reid took over in the second inning, making her first appearance since April 21. She went two innings before Mimi Gooden stepped in to change the pace for the Sooners offense.

The bats were otherwise slow-rolling for the Sooners until the fifth inning when Jayda Coleman went first-pitch swinging for a single. Parker ripped a single down the right field line and a wild pitch from Gooden allowed Coleman to snag the lead for the Sooners. 

Danley then returned to the circle and Kasidi Pickering capitalized on the familiar pitches, ripping a two-run homer to left field. 

In the fifth, Beachum threatened with a shot out to center field but Coleman came in clutch with an epic leap to rob a would-be home run.

Kalei Harding followed up with a solo homer over the left foul pole to put the Seminoles within two runs. 

Oklahoma attempted to add some insurance runs in the sixth after Jennings walked. Maya Bland was caught attempting to steal third. An official review overturned the call, but after loading the bases the Sooners were unable to make any more magic happen. 

To add to the phenomenal defense by the Sooners, Cydney Sanders made an amazing diving catch in foul territory to hold off the Seminoles.

Nicole May came in for relief and closed out the show throwing two complete innings with no hits. 

The win extends the longest win streak in NCAA Tournament history with 18.

Previous articleOklahoma State Run-Rules Arizona to open Stillwater Super Regional
Next articleLSU tags Canady, Stanford in run-rule victory